East Carter High School

The Deborah’s Porch Scholarship was established to provide a scholarship for a deserving student graduating from East Carter High School, with special consideration given to students who have demonstrated an outstanding record of community service, good behavior, and proven leadership skills.  To be eligible, applicants must have at least a 3.0 GPA and an ACT score of 20.

Applicants must be dependent children of employees of Huntington Steel & Supply Company entering their freshman, sophomore, junior or senior year as a full-time student at any four-year accredited college, university or technical school.

Each scholarship recipient shall be chosen on the basis of an evaluation of his or her academic performance, leadership abilities, demonstrated and potential contributions to school and community and financial need compared to costs of the institution at which they intend to enroll after expected family contributions and other grants and scholarship assistance have been considered. Applications are available through the Human Resource Department of Huntington Steel.

Or any other accredited high school in Kentucky

Applicants must be a graduating senior from an accredited Kentucky high school or have received a GED diploma during the current school year and: (1) must be or have been enrolled in a migrant education program in Kentucky during any portion of grades 9-12; (2) must apply to an institution of higher learning and must provide documentation of such acceptance; (3) must have a cumulative GPA of 2.5 or better (HS transcript) with an ACT score of at least 17 or comparable score on post-secondary entrance exam; and (4) must submit three letters of recommendation, with one letter being from a high school teacher, principal or counselor from the school that the student attends, one from a community source, and one from an additional source. Please contact your county migrant advocate to obtain an application. Applications are due each year by March 23 to the Foundation office.

Established in late 2000, this scholarship provides assistance to students graduating from public or private high schools in the FIVCO counties of Kentucky (which consist of Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Greenup and Lawrence counties). Applying students must be planning to attend Ashland Community & Technical College, Marshall University, Morehead State University, Ohio University (Southern or Athens campus), Rio Grande University, Shawnee State University or the University of Kentucky.

Each scholarship recipient shall be chosen on the basis of merit and financial need relative to tuition costs. Preference will be given to students studying the sciences; education majors will not be considered.